The 2011 icc cricket world cup

The fourth slot was taken by different bowlers in different matches, including Sreesanth, Nehra, leg-spinner Piyush Chawlaor off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin. The Super 8 teams played the other six teams that progressed from the different groups. The 14 teams were separated into two groups of seven and each team played the others in its group once.

Each of the first four tournaments was played by eight teams, divided into two groups of four. It was a forty over game with eight balls per over. Being level on points with Australia, they were placed second in the group due to their better net run rate.

Yuvraj bowled his full quota of 10 overs in many matches, including the semi-final against Pakistan. Chamara Kapugederawho was playing his first World Cup match, was caught off a deceptive slower ball by Zaheer Khan. The format used in the and [49] World Cups featured two groups of seven teams, each playing in a round-robin format.

Gambhir and Dhoni added for the fourth wicket with Gambhir scoring The columns, shaped as stumps and bailsrepresent the three fundamental aspects of cricket: A replica differing only in the inscriptions is permanently awarded to the winning team.

The current trophy is made from silver and giltand features a golden globe held up by three silver columns. Both Gambhir and Dhoni emphasised on preserving the wickets, and later accelerating with a greater flow of boundaries.

All-rounder Angelo Mathews had suffered a torn quadriceps and could not play. Virat Kohli and Gautam Gambhir started the recovery with some fluent stroke play and quick running between wickets, taking India to before Kohli was caught-and-bowled by Tillakaratne Dilshan for Spin bowler Ajantha Mendis had performed well throughout the tournament, but he had a poor record against India in pre-World Cup clashes and was not chosen for the final.

Pakistan and India have historically been rivals, and there was immense public pressure on both teams. Windies, World Cup winners in andhave been forced into the World Cup Qualifier after slipping down the ICC rankings and are in danger of missing the main tournament for the first time.

Match Details

Four fieldsmen needed to be inside it at all times. The format of the Cricket World Cup has changed greatly over the course of its history.

India, an outsider, quoted at 66—1 to win by bookmakers before the competition began, were crowned champions after upsetting the West Indies by 43 runs in the final. A distinct format was used for the and World Cups. Teams earned points for wins and half-points for ties. Among the four bowling slots, Zaheer Khan was the pace spearhead supported in most matches by Munaf Patelwhile Harbhajan Singh was the regular off-spinner.

Jeff Crowe was the match referee and Steve Davis the reserve umpire. Pakistan were stripped of their hosting rights following the terrorist attack on the Sri Lankan cricket team inwith the games originally scheduled for Pakistan redistributed to the other host countries.

A3 v B1 March Following this, the Indian President Pratibha Patil also announced her decision to attend the match. Starting in with a four-team knockout competition known as the Midlands Knock-Out Cup, [7] and continuing with the inaugural Gillette Cup inone-day cricket grew in popularity in England.

However, international cricket continued to be played as bilateral Test matches over three, four or five days. The three top run scorers of this tournament were from these finalists: In the early s, English county cricket teams began playing a shortened version of cricket which only lasted for one day.

Cricket World Cup

In the final, Australia dismissed Pakistan for and then reached the target in less than 20 overs and with eight wickets in hand. A replica differing only in the inscriptions is permanently awarded to the winning team.

2011 Cricket World Cup Final

The captain had chosen Nehra over Ashwin in the match against Pakistan also.Get a summary of the New Zealand vs South Africa cricket match.

The ICC Cricket World Cup is the international championship of One Day International (ODI) event is organised by the sport's governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), every four years, with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals tournament.

The tournament is one of the world's most viewed sporting events and is considered the "flagship event of the. Nervous de Kock has found third man to perfection.

New Zealand have been all over him, he has been dropped once, but now that the ball has just about stopped swinging, de Kock has thrown it away. The Cricket World Cup was the tenth World Cup, organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

ICC Men's Team Rankings

The competition took place between 19 February and 2 April Co-hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, the tournament was the third World Cup to be played in the Indian subcontinent.

ICC World Cup Schedule, Match Timings, Venue Details, Upcoming Cricket Matches and Recent Results on The defending champions India is scheduled to begin their campaign against Pakistan on February 15 in a day-night clash at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide.

- ICC Cricket World Cup Schedule in IST.

The 2011 icc cricket world cup
Rated 3/5 based on 10 review